New AGD President: We Need to Help Our Members Be More Connected

  • by AGD News
  • Nov 5, 2018

The Academy of General Dentistry’s House of Delegates installed new officers during its recent Annual Meeting, held in Chicago, Nov. 2-4. Neil J. Gajjar, DDS, MAGD, a general dentist from Toronto, was named president. He is the second Canadian to hold this office.

As AGD’s new president, Dr. Gajjar intends to strengthen AGD’s network of dentists and establish more resources for general dentists and the public that will ultimately improve oral health.

“Our members want to be connected to other dentists,” he said. “They want to know what should be done in specific clinical situations, which courses they should take, which courses are worth their money, and which ones will make them better dentists. We need to incorporate the technology to give them what they need.”

Other officers who were elected during the meeting include Bruce L. Cassis, DDS, MAGD, of Fayetteville, West Virginia, as vice president, and Elizabeth A. Clemente, DDS, MAGD, of Skillman, New Jersey, became treasurer.

Other members of the 2018-19 Executive Committee include: Connie L. White, DDS, FAGD, now president-elect; Michael W. Lew, DMD, MAGD, secretary; Bryan C. Edgar, DDS, MAGD, speaker of the house; Roger D. Winland, DDS, MS, MAGD, editor; and Manuel A. Cordero, DDS, CPH, MAGD, now immediate past president.

AGD 2018-2019 New Officers

The regional election outcomes including the following selections:

Howard Chi, DMD, MAGD, as regional director, and Guy Acheson, DDS, MAGD, as trustee in Region 13.

Jason Eaton, DDS, MAGD, as regional director, and J.C. Cheney, DMD, as trustee in Region 14.

Kulwant Turna, DDS, and Sarah Hyams, DMD, as regional directors, and Sanjay Uppal, DDS, FAGD, as trustee of Region 15/16.

David Mapes, DDS, as regional director, and Jennifer Fong, DDS, FAGD, as trustee of Region 17.

William Burn, DMD, MAGD, as regional director, and Glenn Miller, DDS, FAGD, as trustee of Region 19.

Laurence Grayhills, DMD, MAGD, regional director, and Robert Gehrig, DMD, FAGD, as trustee in Region 20.