New AGD President Ready to Make Impactful Change

  • by AGD News
  • Nov 12, 2019
The Academy of General Dentistry’s (AGD’s) House of Delegates recently installed new officers during its annual meeting, held in Chicago, Nov. 8–10. Connie L. White, DDS, FAGD, a general dentist from Kansas City, Missouri, was named president.

White, who is associate professor, interim dean for clinical programs and assistant dean for community relations and communications at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Dentistry, said she is eager to focus on issues impacting how general dentists engage with AGD as well as how they practice and deliver quality care to patients.

“I am confident that, together, we can accomplish a lot during my year as president. I want to work with everyone to create a mosaic of impactful change,” said White. “Academia, mentoring young people, and my love of dentistry and learning have been my life. They’re how I found AGD, and I have shared my love of AGD with every student I have known for just over 40 years of teaching and practice.”

Other officers who were elected during the meeting include Gerald J. Botko, DMD, MS, MAGD, as vice president, and Abe Dyzenhaus, DDS, FAGD, as secretary. Bryan C. Edgar, DDS, MAGD, was reelected as speaker of the house.

Other members of the 2019-20 Executive Committee include: Bruce L. Cassis, DDS, MAGD, now president-elect; Elizabeth A. Clemente, DDS, MAGD, treasurer; Roger D. Winland, DDS, MS, MAGD, editor; and Neil J. Gajjar, DDS, MAGD, now immediate past president.

The regional election outcomes included the following selections:
Region 2: Seung-Hee Rhee, DDS, MAGD, Regional Director; and Ira A. Levine, DDS, MAGD, Trustee
Region 3: Kurt J. Laemmer, DMD, MAGD, Regional Director; and Michael K. Kaner, DMD, MAGD, Trustee
Region 4: Shari L. Hyder, DMD, MAGD, Regional Director; and Scott M. Dubowsky, DMD, FAGD, Trustee
Region 12: Kristopher P. Rappold, DDS, MAGD, Regional Director; and K. David Stillwell, DDS, MAGD, Trustee
Region 18: Marc J. Worob, DDS, FAGD, Regional Director; and David M. Tillman, DDS, MAGD, Trustee
Region 20: Merlin P. Ohmer, DDS, MAGD, Regional Director